The migration or setup of Datto Workplace is broken into three main sections once you complete your account activation. There is a bit of preparation and it will lay the foundation for your future use of the system. At the time of writing, Datto Workplace was recently re-branded from ‘Autotask Workplace’. Some screenshots will show this, this is the same program.

Setup File directories

Setup your files and folders into the new “Projects”

Setup Users

Get your employees and users into the new system

g

Installer

Get your installer on your machine that you will be doing the migration and for all new file accesses

The Activation Email & Installing Datto Workplace

You will get an activation email that will ask you to get your account setup. The process is relatively straight forward and we have given you the steps you need below on getting the system started for the first time.

This is the email you will receive. Simply click on “Activate Account” and start the process.

Create a strong password and please make it unique!

Accept the privacy and license agreement and then you will be placed on the dashboard

Once on the dashboard, click “Install Workplace” to get the installer files page

Choose the version of the program that you need, download and install it. You will need to log in during the installation process but everything else is automated.

Your screen will flicker as it is installed, the application needs to integrate itself into the operating system for certain controls to work like sync icons and share menus.

 

Setting up files

You will want to create a project folder for every base directory you need to apply permissions to. For migration from DattoDrive, you can copy all the directories you have as the admin in the root of the directory. In the example below, we removed some folders that we had, we had some clutter we took care of! Adding the folders “Manually” isn’t a necessary step but it is good practice to get the Projects created in the site portal. Adding a folder to the main Datto Workplace folder on your computer will auto-create a project.

Our old DattoDrive root directory

Our new Datto Workplace Projects list

Adding Projects to your machine

Once you have everything ready, you can fire up your Datto Workplace settings and ensure you are syncing all the directories you want to move files over to.

Right click on the Datto Workplace Desktop Icon and then click “Preferences”

In the screen that pops up, click “Preferences” (1), Then, in the window that pops up click “Sync Project” (2) and then choose your projects (3) and click “Full Sync” (4). You can do selective sync if you like after the migration is complete

Syncing Files

Once those directories are synced, you can double click on the Datto Workplace icon and go into the folder you want to copy data onto. Once there, copy the files from your DattoDrive (or cut them) and paste them into your Datto Workplace project folder.

The files will instantly start syncing, your Datto Workplace icon will change to a sync icon like this:

Once the sync is complete, you will see green checkmarks beside the file folders.

All done!

Setting up users

Users and groups exist just like in Datto Drive. Simply add your users in the user interface, create the groups you need or want and then apply those permissions to each project. You, by default as the Super Admin, will have access to all files (other than the users personal folder, just like in Datto Drive)

Your user list has 3 main parts.

(1) is Add a user/ member.

(2) the button icon will show statuses of the current user such as their Admin rights, if they have activated and if there is anything wrong with the user.

(3) shows their storage settings, how many projects they are involved in and how much storage they have used.

Adding a new user is as easy as putting in a name and email address

(1). You must allocate a storage amount

(2). The storage is calculated based on how much data THEY put into the projects they manage, this is only calculated at the device level of who is logged on. You can change these values at any time and it may need some adjustments.

(3) is their admin rights, connections are external users (guest) users which can access limited parts of your system and typically are not used.

Adding users to your projects

Once all your users are created, you can add them to projects. By default, if you assigned a project the “everyone” group, they will automatically have permission. Permissions are incredibly granular in Datto Workplace and I highly recommend you review this document to learn more: Datto Workplace - Sharing Permissions

Right click on the Datto Workplace Desktop Icon and then click “Preferences”

In the screen that pops up, click “Preferences” (1), Then, in the window that pops up click “Sync Project” (2) and then choose your projects (3) and click “Full Sync” (4). You can do selective sync if you like after the migration is complete

Syncing Files

Once those directories are synced, you can double click on the Datto Workplace icon and go into the folder you want to copy data onto. Once there, copy the files from your DattoDrive (or cut them) and paste them into your Datto Workplace project folder.

The files will instantly start syncing, your Datto Workplace icon will change to a sync icon like this:

Once the sync is complete, you will see green checkmarks beside the file folders.

All done!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This